Background to tournaments


The Flood Cup is the club’s most prestigious tournament. It has been contested annually since 1978. The Flood Cup is run in round-robin format, or as a 7 round Swiss tournament if entries are too high for all-play-all. Time controls are 40 moves in 100 minutes, then 10/20. [List of winners] [rules]

The One Hour tournament receives its name from the fact that each player has 60 minutes in which to make all moves. It has been contested annually since 1995. [List of winners] [rules]

The club has run an Allegro tournament since at least as far back as 1983. The Best All-Rounder Trophy has always included the Allegro Tournament as a component. [List of winners] [rules]

The official Lightning tournament has been held annually since at least as far back as 1983. Since its inception in 1985, the Best All-Rounder Trophy has always included the Lightning Tournament as a component. [List of winners] [rules]

The St David’s Day trophy was first contested in 2004. A scratch handicap tournament is held on the Friday closest to March the First which is the day set aside to honour the Welsh patron saint – a figure deeply revered at the club (by some). The format of the tournament in 2004 was 3 min + 2 sec/move, round-robin with points handicap. This is likely to change in 2005 due to the whim of the senior Welsh player at the club who will collude with the DOP. [no link to the rules as there are none]

The Best All-Rounder Trophy is awarded to the club's champion player. During the year points are gained by players based on their final position in selected club tournaments during the year - the club champion is the one with most points accrued. The current four tournaments used to calculate the Best All-Rounder are the Flood Cup, One Hour, Allegro and Lightning. [List of winners] [rules]

The Joe Tarnawski Trophy is awarded to player with the best achievement in the combined Allegro and Lightning tournaments. [List of winners] [Rules]

The Handicap Trophy is awarded to the player with the highest score in the Flood Cup plus handicap score. A certain number of points is given to each player as a handicap before the start of the tournament, such that each player has an equal chance of winning. [List of winners] [rules]

The Maiden Trophy is awarded to the player who finishes highest in the One Hour Trophy and has not previously won a club tournament. [List of winners] [rules]

Each year the club holds a Prize Night. As well as distributing the prizes that have been achieved through the year, the club also runs a Handicap Lightning Tournament. Players are handicapped on time (according to rating) so that they have between 2 and 5 minutes to complete all their moves. [List of winners]


The Gap Open was staged every year between 1980 and 2002. Originally scheduled for October/November, it was run on the Queen’s Birthday Weekend every year since 1983. Entries since 1993 were less than the late 1980s and early 1990s mainly because the club staged a separate tournament for juniors during the weekend. In 2001 the junior tournament attracted 35 entries, more than the Open itself. This trend continued in 2002 when the junior event received 40 entries, compared to only 16 for the Open. This dwindling of numbers led to the decision to abandon the Open in 2003. The 2001 Gap Open was run as a repechage event for the Queensland Championship with all but the final 8 contesting the Open. [List of winners]


[The Gap Chess Club homepage]