
CHESS T' MINIT puzzle – November 2014 
 
This month’s puzzle is a wonderful problem composed by J. Trillon in 1967. You have come across this 
position in a tournament game. Both kings are in check so something is amiss. Assuming that only the 
last move was made in error, what was that move and who should win the game.  
 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
Solution: Black's last move has to have been d7-d5+ (simply d6+ isn't possible because it would not have 
removed the black king from check) and White made the illegal enpassant capture leaving both kings in 
check. By the rules of chess he must retract the illegal capture. However, since the e5 pawn has no other 
moves, White can choose from any other move, and will play the forced 1. bxa4, winning easily. 


