The Gap Chess Club Incorporated Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

Date: 11 December, 2009

Place: The Gap Tavern, 21 Glenguarie Place, The Gap

The meeting commenced at 8:08pm.

Present

In person: Greg Colwell, Ray Adams, Nathan Shaw, James Hiller, Andrew Robinson,

Margaret Colwell (observer)

By proxy: Mark Taylor, Tony Howes

Apologies

Nil

Previous Minutes

The minutes of the previous annual general meeting were accepted. Proposed: Andrew Robinson. Seconded: Nathan Shaw. Accepted with no objections.

Voting

It was agreed that all present at the meeting except Margaret Colwell were current financial members of the club and therefore eligible to vote on matters at this AGM. Two proxies were accepted, both made in favour of the chairman.

Management committee reports

President's report / DOP Report

Andrew Robinson gave verbal summary. The following points were noted:

- Membership levels at the club remain steady.
- All tournaments were successfully completed.
- The club's four major tournaments were won by different people.
- The tournament schedule will unchanged in 2010.
- The 2009 45 Minutes tournament will be completed during January 2010.

Proposed: Nathan Shaw. Seconded: Greg Colwell. Accepted. Carried unanimously.

Secretary/Treasurer's report

Greg Colwell gave a verbal summary and presented the financial statements. He said that while the club showed a small operating loss for 2008/09 this was in part due to the late banking of night fees which occurred after the 30 September cut-off.

Greg explained to members that the depreciation listed on the Balance Sheet is a standard accounting mechanism and does not represent a significant loss to the club.

Greg advised members that it is no longer necessary for incorporated bodies such as ours to lodge audited financial statements with the Office of Fair Trading if their gross income and assets are below \$20,000.

Proposed: Andrew Robinson. Seconded: Nathan Shaw. Accepted. Carried unanimously.

Proposal to create new position

Ray Adams offered to assist the club with recruitment of new players.

The following motion was put to the meeting:

"A new position should be created on the management committee for the role of *Recruitment Officer*."

Proposed: Andrew Robinson. Seconded: Nathan Shaw. Carried unanimously.

Election of office bearers for 2010

All positions were declared vacant and the following office bearers were elected.

President: Andrew Robinson Vice-President: Nathan Shaw Secretary: Greg Colwell Treasurer: Greg Colwell

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer: Mark Taylor Tournament Director/Arbiter: Andrew Robinson

Publicity Officer: Tony Howes Recruitment Officer: Ray Adams Equipment Officer: Vacant Catering Officer: Greg Colwell CAQ Delegate: Andrew Robinson

All positions nominated by Ray Adams and seconded James Hiller, except the Recruitment Officer position which was nominated by Andrew Robinson and seconded Nathan Shaw. All positions elected unopposed.

Appointment of Honorary Solicitor

Nathan Shaw accepted the nomination to be honorary solicitor for the club. (nominated Greg Colwell, seconded Andrew Robinson). Carried unanimously.

General business

Default time

Pursuant to article 6.6 of the *FIDE Laws of Chess 2009* the default time for all tournament games at The Gap Chess Club will be 30 minutes.

(Proposed Nathan Shaw, Seconded: Greg Colwell). Carried unanimously.

Meeting closed at 8:25pm.